header



Welcome to the Micro Center Tech Support Blog!
Find free technical support on a variety of products featured at Micro Center and plenty of how-tos on new technology. Start searching our Blog below or search our Tech Center archives »

Can't find what your looking for? Take advantage of our Tech Support services »

Join the MC Tech Support Community Forum: Get direct advice from the Knowledge Experts @ Micro Center.
Click here to access the Forum »

Search This Blog

Showing posts with label settings. Show all posts
Showing posts with label settings. Show all posts

Thursday, May 26, 2011

How to Disable or Enable Toolbars in Internet Explorer

Toolbars that are offered my different search engines and web sites can be very useful. However, there may reach a point where these become more of a hindrance than a benefit. You can remove the toolbar by following these steps:

 Internet Explorer window


  1. Click on Start » Control Panel. Select Programs » Uninstall a Program.

    Start menu 

    Uninstall a program
  2. Choose the toolbar you wish to uninstall and click Uninstall/Change.

    Uninstall/Change program

  3. Close the Control Panel.

To turn off a toolbar:

  1. With Internet Explorer open, press the Alt key. This will open the Menu bar.

    Internet Explorer menu

  2. Click the View menu option, then Toolbars.
  3. All of the toolbars currently being displayed will show with check next to it.

    Toolbar menu

  4. To disable the Toolbar, click the toolbar you wish to turn off.
  5. If you are using Internet Explorer 9, you may receive a message asking if you wish to disable the toolbar. If so, click Disable. The toolbar will no longer be displayed.

    Disable Add-on

  6. If there is more than one toolbar you wish to disable, simply repeat the process.
  7. To re-enable or turn the Toolbar back on, simply press Alt to display the Menu bar. Click View » Toolbars. Click on the toolbar to display it again.

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Change the Autoplay Settings in Windows 7

This how-to article details changing the Autoplay settings in Windows 7. This can be useful if: when a disc or drive is attached to the system, the system performs and undesired task, such as automatically beginning to play an audio CD.

  1. Click on the Start button in the bottom left of your screen, then in the Search programs and files box type in “autoplay” without the quotes. Press Enter.


  2. On the new window, locate the item to be changed. For this example, an Audo CD will be changed to have windows ask every time what to do, instead of playing automatically or any other action.
  3. Click on the option dropdown next to the item to be changed.


  4. Choose the option required for that particular item.


  5. Make any additional changes required, then click on Save in the bottom right to finalize the settings.

Thursday, April 7, 2011

How to Backup Your Windows Live Mail Senders List

This document will assist in the back up of the Blocked senders list from the Junk Mail on both Windows Live Mail and Windows Mail. This will make it easy to transfer to a new computer.

To create a copy of your Windows Live Mail or Windows Mail blocked senders list:
  1. Go to your Windows Live Mail or Windows Mail settings in the Windows registry.
  2. To locate your Windows Live Mail settings in the Windows registry, type "regedit" in the Start menu's Start Search box.
  3. Click regedit under Programs.
  4. Scroll down the registry tree to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\­Software\­Microsoft\­Windows Live Mail.
  5. Expand the Junk Mail key.
  6. Click on the Block Senders List key.
  7. Select File » Export from the menu.
  8. Change the location to the directory where you want to keep the backup copy of your Windows Live Mail or Windows Mail blocked senders list.
  9. Type "Blocked Senders" in the File Name box.
  10. Click Save.

Find Your Windows Mail Settings in the Windows Registry:
  1. Type "regedit" in in the Start menu's Start Search box.
  2. Click regedit under Programs.
  3. Travel down the registry tree to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\­Software\­Microsoft\­Windows Mail.
  4. Expand the Junk Mail key.
  5. Click on the Block Senders List key.
  6. Select File » Export from the menu.
  7. Change the location to the directory where you want to keep the backup copy of your Windows Live Mail or Windows Mail blocked senders list.
  8. Type "Blocked Senders" in the File Name box.
  9. Click Save.

Friday, April 1, 2011

How to Improve the Gaming Performance of Your Graphics Card

The overall goal of increasing the performance of a graphics card is to increase the frames per second (fps) at which a game operates. This can be achieved multiple ways. Some suggestions are as follows:

  1. Change the video settings in the game.
    Going into the video settings and lowering some of them can greatly increase the fps of the game. Settings to lower include:
    • Resolution
    • Texture Quality
    • Bit Depth
    • Shadowing
    • Effects
  2. Remove background processes.
    Though the card may be operating at a high level, there may be programs slowing down Windows, which can decrease your fps. To remove background processes:

    • Check for icons in the Notification Area (by default this is located to the left of the clock in the bottom right corner of the screen). Just right-click on icons for programs not currently in use, and select the Exit or Close option.
  3. Update your graphics card drivers.
    The graphics card manufacturer generally has the latest updates.

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

How to Backup Outlook Files

This article demonstrates how to create a backup and restore files from a backup using Outlook 2010. If your email is managed by a Microsoft Exchange Server, backups are performed regularly as part of system maintenance, and it may not be necessary to create backup. For a home computer, creating a local backup copy of your emails is essential in the event of a system failure or program corruption.

For instructions on creating backups in Outlook 2002/2003/2007, go to Microsoft Support’s website for assistance.

To Export Outlook .pst File:
  1. Start Outlook program.
  2. Click File » Open » Import.


  3. In the menu box, select Export to a file.


  4. Click Next.
  5. Select Outlook Data File (.pst).


  6. Click Next.
  7. Select folder to export from.


  8. Click Next.
  9. Rename file or keep default name.


  10. Click Finish.
Note: The system may prompt you to create a password for your backup file for additional security. Click Cancel if you do not want to password-protect the file.

To Import Outlook .pst Backup:
  1. In Outlook, go to File » Open » Import.


  2. Select Import from another program or file.


  3. Click Next.
  4. Select Outlook Data File (.pst).


  5. Click Next.
  6. Locate the .pst file using the Browse button.
  7. Click Next.
  8. Select folder to import from.
  9. Click Finish to initiate import process.

Reference:
Microsoft Support. How to manage .pst files in Outlook 2007/2003/2002. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/287070